Homemade – Artisan Bread (*AKA Peasant Bread*)

This was my first bread making experience. It is easy and I found that the directions to follow from The Italian Dish Blog were wonderful with a nice video to follow-up with. From a non-experienced bread maker to another start here first.

Please Note: This is an Artisan bread not sandwich bread. It goes GREAT with a nice big plate of spaghetti.

What you need:

  • 3 cups lukewarm water
  • 1-1/2 tablespoons granulated fast acting (instant) yeast (2 packets)
  • 1-1/2 tablespoons kosher or other coarse salt
  • 6-1/2 cups unsifted, unbleached all-purpose white flour

What to do:

I suggest going to The Italian Dish Blog as she explains the process very thoroughly with pictures and video.

FAQ:

Q: My bread turned out really crispy on the outside. Did I do something wrong? A: No; true artisan bread is crispy crunchy outside and gummy yummy inside.

Q: Is there a way to lessen the crunch. A: Yes; ignore the water step.

Q: Can I half the recipe? A: Yes.

Q: Have you tried a whole wheat version of this? A: No; but I will! I do know that a whole wheat version to make it more palatable you need a sweetener. Honey will probably be my way to go.

Q: Why did you call it peasant bread in the title. A: My mother grew up relatively poor in TN. This was a term she often used in regards to artisan breads.

, , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

