Homemade – Instant Oatmeal

I just want to put this out there that I made this recipe PRE-South Beach Diet. It is so good and easy!

DIY Instant Oatmeal was my first find to my now favorite blogger Ms Jillee. I ADORE her style and love the ideas she posts. My posts are related to the experience and experimentation of other’s peoples ideas.

Without further adieu, I now introduce my first food entry into my blog!

Jillee’s Instant Oatmeal (Tweaked on accident)

  • 10 cups of quick oats (3/4 of a large tub) – One whole large container of quick oats.
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 1-2  cups brown sugar (depending on how sweet you like your oatmeal)
  • 1 cup non-dairy creamer
  • one air tight container

What to do: Put 3 cups of oats into a blender and blend until it is powdery. In a bowel add powdered oats and all other ingredients together and mix well. 1/2 cup of oat meal mixture to 3/4 cup of milk, water, or half and half  as desired and heat to desired temperature in the microwave.

FAQ

Q: Why did you tweak the recipe? A: it was an accident but using the whole container of oats turned out be just fine. If it’s not broke don’t fix it!

Q: How much brown sugar did you use? A: I used two cups. The husband likes it sweeter. I found it to be just fine.

Q: How many servings does this make? About 24, so that makes 2.5 – 3 boxes of Quaker Oats for about $3.48. I had all other ingredients but the oats.

Q: The recipe lists non-dairy creamer but in the picture on Jillee’s site it shows Vanilla Non-Dairy creamer. What did you use? A: I used the vanilla, but next time I will use plain

Q: What do you like in your oatmeal? A: My favorite additions to oatmeal is sliced almonds and dried cranberries.

Q: Will do be doing more alterations to this recipe? A: Yes; I am going to try using a variation with whole cooking oats or steel cut oats due to my new dieting food habits.

This is a GREAT way to save some money on a very common breakfast item. I LOVE IT! 

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Vanessa on May 22, 2013 - 10:14 pm

    I used this recipe after you posted it to facebook. I tweaked it even more than you did! I used powdered milk instead of non dairy creamer. I also used splenda instead of brown sugar because I like mine super sweet but really shouldn’t have that much sugar. I made cranberry almond for me, honey nut (with chopped walnuts) for my boyfriend and maple and brown sugar for the kiddos. Just add honey or syrup after heating. This is a huge money saver for me especially because my boys with go through a box of instant oatmeal in a morning.

  2. #2 by Susan on May 23, 2013 - 4:01 pm

    That’s fantastic!! I haven’t made a new batch since I started the South Beach Diet, but I have some splenda brown sugar just waiting for me to test. How did you like the powdered milk?

    I’ll be working on a diabetic version of this and a south beach version.

    • #3 by vanessa on May 26, 2013 - 4:46 pm

      The powdered milk worked great. Id say I used about a 1/4 cup for a whole tub of quick oats

      • #4 by Susan on May 28, 2013 - 12:43 pm

        Thanks! I’ll have to give it a try soon!

  3. #5 by blogspot.com on May 26, 2013 - 5:57 am

    Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it is really informative.
    I am going to watch out for brussels. I will appreciate if
    you continue this in future. A lot of people will be benefited from your writing.

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

