DIY – Starter Garden

In the early spring I decided to try my hand in gardening. I would not say that I particularly have a green thumb, but I did learn a nice thing or two about planting my own stuff.

HERBS – Being a cook I LOVE to season everything and mix it up. Making my own herb garden has been wonderful! Most have been really easy! I began everything as seedlings.

I took an idea from this gal; You Grow Girl. I used toilet paper rolls and paper towel rolls to make my own seed packs. I then put them into a clear sterlite container and made a sort of green house using another as a topper to trap in heat and let the sun shine through.

THEN I used containers of all kinds to make little planters. Inspired by Green Roof Growers.

I also used 5 gallon buckets inspired by The Rusted Gardener and The Urban Gardener have all inspired me.

Cat Litter Buckets, Coffee Plastic Containers, Two Liter Soda Bottles, Juice Bottles, Milk Jugs….. they are all great to use!

I am hoping I can get good produce for my first time. We shall see. Thus far, I have great herbs!

Lemon Tyme, Sweet Basil, Lemon Basil, Oregano, Mint, Apple Mint, Peppermint, Parsley, & Chives.

The Rosemary and Sage I could not get to grow. I think the seeds are duds.

So if you want to try it, take a 5 gallon bucket, drills some filtering holes in the bottom for drainage and plop in a tomato plant to have some wonderful sweet tomatoes!  It’s not hard. I water them and trim off the suckers and use the wire racks. I have two going. Easy Peasy. I put them out onto my patio!

I also have a plethora of bell peppers and green onions. I hope they turn out well. So far so good!

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Vanessa on August 17, 2013 - 12:34 pm

    I couldn’t get my rosemary to grow either.

Leave a Reply

