Do It Yourself – Vicks Vapor Rub

Why bother paying for some Vicks Vapor Rub when you have all the materials right in your very home? When the little guy gets a stuffy nose mom is to the rescue!

First thing is first a nice soothing warm bath with toys and bubbles! I don’t care how sick my son gets he loves a bath and a nice bath with some Eucalyptus Essential Oil and Lavender Oil it is the perfect relief for that congested chest and stuffy nose. 

(For Adults) I came across this gem from My Crazy Blessed Life for vapor shower discs. One Good Thing By Jillee also has a formula for this!  Oh it’s genius! You could use this to make a relaxing aroma infused shower. A nice hot lavender shower after a long day….. I’m drooling as I type this!  (PS I can’t take a bath in my bath! Their like half size tubs, oh how I miss a nice big garden tub)

Anyways, back on track (you’re getting a two for one deal here) Easy Peasy Vapor Rub. I did explore a few blogs on the topic, and this time it came down to materials I had on hand.

Here are a couple to look at.

Wellness Mama

Mommy Potamus

Wholistic Living with Melissa

One Good Thing By Jillee

As much as I really love the idea of adding cocoa butter and bees wax I don’t have those materials so I went with good ol’ faithful straight up coconut oil. 
 
What you need?
-1/4 cup coconut oil
-10 drops Eucalyptus Oil
-10 drops Rosemary Oil
-10 drops Lavender Oil
 
What to do? It’s simple. Melt, mix, cool and store in a dry cool place. Coconut oil melts at 76 degrees. After you have a solid form just take some into your hands and rub the chest, under nose, and feet. 

Being sick is no fun and companies take too much out of our pockets by playing to our ignorance. We don’t need to spend our hard earned money on dozens of medicinal items when for thousands upon thousands of years natural remedies have been used just fine and just as if not more effective. I’m not saying everything needs to be hand or homemade, but let us be practical, and in my mind items that I use everyday that have multi purpose use out of them is by far more practical than the one shot, one use item. Think About It.

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

